Food Handlers Certification

Type
Course
Date of Publication
July 15, 2021
Price
See Agrilife Learn

Overview

This food handlers certification course, accredited with the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS), will allow food service employees, cottage food business operators, or others to meet the requirement of having a food handler or food safety course. Participants will learn basic food safety practices for the preparation of food and can print a food handlers card.

Course Information This accredited Texas food handlers certification course takes less than 2 hours to complete. It is designed to promote the preparation of safe food in food establishments and other venues. Some topics discussed are: good personal hygiene, cross-contamination, and time and temperature principles. Upon completion of the course, you will be able to print a food handlers card. This card will be valid for 2 years. The cost of the course does not cover any fees associated with your local health department. Bulk purchasing with discounted pricing is available. Additional Information about Food Handlers Certification in TexasThe Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS), under the Texas Food Establishment Rules, requires that 'all food employees shall successfully complete an accredited food handler training course, within 60 days of employment.'Texas Cottage Food Law requires an individual who operates a cottage food production operation to have successfully completed an accredited basic food safety education or training program for food handlers.

Looking for solutions in your county? Contact your local extension experts

More choices in Cooking & Food Safety